UK regional critics today announce their Film of the year, as a highlight of the fifth annual Richard Attenborough Film Awards (RAFAs). The prestigious accolade goes to The Social Network, which also wins Screenwriter of the year for Aaron Sorkin.

The RAFAs – the UK’s regional film awards – comprise fourteen categories. Seven are exclusively for UK regional film critics, while a further seven are decided by public votes. In recognition of their achievement, each winner will each receive a RAFA award, remodelled for 2010 and engraved with Lord Attenborough’s signature.

Voting in the seven categories for regional critics took place online between 15 November and 6 December 2010. The voting constituency was staff and freelance arts and entertainment writers, critics and editors in all branches of UK regional media. Results as follows:

UK regional critics’ vote

Film of the year: The Social Network

Filmmaker of the year: Christopher Nolan – director, Inception

Screenwriter of the year: Aaron Sorkin – The Social Network

Actor of the year: Colin Firth – The King’s Speech

Actress of the year: Noomi Rapace – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Rising Star of the year: Chloe Moretz – Kick-Ass

All Time Legend: Sir Michael Caine CBE

The seven people’s choice categories (below) were each decided by an online public vote. Toy Story 3wins three RAFAs, more than any other title, while Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1was voted for on ITV1’s The Alan Titchmarsh Show.

British Film of the year: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

Film Star of 2010: Angelina Jolie – Salt (and with The Tourist just released)

Animated Film of the year: Toy Story 3

Breakthrough Star of the year: Chloe Moretz – Kick Ass

3D Film of the year : Toy Story 3

Top Film Character of the year: Edward Cullen – The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Family Film of the year: Toy Story 3

Veteran film star Sir Michael Caine CBEwas conferred All Time Legend, voted for by the regional journalists. In the last year alone, he has appeared in both Inception and Harry Brown, and has published a volume of autobiography, The Elephant to Hollywood. The special achievement award was inaugurated in 2009 when it was won by none other than Lord (Richard) Attenborough himself.

Lord Attenborough CBE said: "The last year has shown the cinema to be both resilient and innovative, with large audiences eager to enjoy the unique theatrical experience. It has also brought a superb crop of terrific films with compelling performances from both experienced and fresh talents. I offer my warmest congratulations to this admirable set of winners."