(01/09/08) – Paul Thomas Anderson’s There Will Be Blood won FIPRESCI’s Grand Prix 2008, the international critics federation’s award for what its members consider the best film of the year.

The American filmmaker will receive the award on 18 September during the opening ceremony of the San Sebastian Festival, which hosts the Grand Prix since its creation in 1999. Paul Thomas Anderson had already received the Grand Prix in 2000, for Magnolia. Other winners include Jean-Luc Godard, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Kim Ki-Duk and Cristian Mungiu.